Leonard Slatkin, Jury Chairman 2017

The jury of the 55th Besançon international Competition for young Conductors will be chaired by American conductor Leonard Slatkin.
Music director of the Orchestre National de Lyon since 2011 and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra since 2008, Leonard Slatkin leads an intense career as invited conductor besides his activities of composer, author and teacher. He has conducted most of the major orchestras in the world and realized more than 1000 recordings which were worth to him 7 Grammy Awards and 64 nominations.

With Jean-Michel Mathé (director of the Festival and the Competition) Leonard Slatkin has decided on the composition of the jury and programme of the preliminaries and final rounds of the 55th Competition.

  • Leonard Slatkin, jury chairman | Conductor (US)
  • Philippe Hersant, composer in residence at the Festival (FR)
  • Stefan Asbury, conductor (UK)
  • Valérie Chevalier, director of opera (FR)
  • Catherine Larsen-Maguire, conductor (UK)
  • Jorge Rotter, conductor (AR)
  • Jean-François Verdier, conductor (FR)

With its musical director as jury chairman of the competition, it is naturally the Orchestre National de Lyon that will ensure the 1/2 final and the Final of the Competition in September.
The Orchestre Victor Hugo Franche-Comté, regular partner of the Competition, will ensure the 1/8 and 1/4 final of the Competition.